All reviews

By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Swearing Allegiance

Great writing and storytelling

I’m a great fan of Jana Petken’s writing/storytelling and was excited to discover her latest novel, Swearing Allegiance (The Carmody Saga Book 1). Set during The Great War (WW1) comes a story that depicts wartime, vividly excruciating and brilliantly written. From page one, the action begins full on, unrelenting in the horrors of war torn Irish loyalists fighting to protect their land. Innocent civilians are shot down in the street and we instantly gain sympathy for the characters we meet, and our hearts break when the Carmody father is ripped cruelly from his son, shockingly altering the lives of the rest of the his family.
No detail is spared right down to the swallowing document thrown off as sweets to the inquirer. The roots are planted and the action doesn’t let up as we move through time and battles, from war in Ireland to the Great War, from Ireland to London, the bombings with subsequent devastation to Jenny Carmody, to the seas and the disaster of a sinking ship with all the accompanying horrors. Petken shines in bringing scenes alive through well-developed characters that burn from the pages as the human condition plays out with themes of love, betrayal, conflicts of war, and country-sibling rivalry. I especially loved Jenny whose life is altered and instead of succumbing she grows and shows great fortitude. Fate shows her thin-skinned fiancé out to be what he is, to her ultimate advantage. I particularly liked the subplot love stories—the distances traveled from London to Whales to recaptured and reclaim one’s heart’s desire—and the love that knows no bounds under the umbrella of the love of family. There is so much richness, appropriate historical representation, scene depiction, and action that one could write a lengthy essay on the value of this novel and Petken’s understanding of the cruelty of war. Suffice it to say this is sure to become a classic.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Letters Never Sent

Wonderful

I had read the book and loved it. I thought the audio was wonderful too. I found myself looking for excuse to take a drive or do yard work. Anything to slip on my ear buds and get back to the story.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Temple of the Blind

I'm speechless

Have I mentioned how obsessed I am with Brian Harmon's writing now? I started off with Rushed and then investigated the Temple of the Blind series, and all I can say is that my feet hurt. Why? Because I carry my Kindle Fire with me wherever I go, and I can't look away from the words at ALL, I stumble through the house, unable to tear myself away enough to walk from room to room without stubbing my toes and stepping on stuff! But seriously, these books go right from one into the next without making you feel like you've missed something, it honestly could have been all written in one book. Your life will never be the same after reading this series.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : First and Only

OUTSTANDING!!!

I cannot express how much I enjoyed this book! It pulled me in, and would not let go.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : December Boys

A Different Sort of Hero

If you could sum up December Boys in three words, what would they be?

Sorrow - addiction - flawed. You could just feel for Jay Porter and his life. You find out about his brother and the past that just won't go away. You watch his self medicate himself or get help via the doctor, but you understand why he does it as the story continues.

What other book might you compare December Boys to and why?

I didn't know there was a first book, which I now want to listen to. Plus there should be a third one, which will be a must to hear.

What about Timothy McKean’s performance did you like?

I loved his narration of this story. He kept my interest throughout the whole story. To me, he did an excellent job in telling us this story.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

There were times where I laughed at Jay's times with his friends or wanted to cry when he was dealing with his wife and all that mess. This shows a well written book that can allow the reader/listener feel empathy for the main character and his troubles.

Any additional comments?

This audiobook was provided by the author/narrator/publisher free of charge in exchange for an unbiased review.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Housekeeping for the Soul

A helpful book with real insights that will help you change your life

The author, Sandra-Carrington Smith is a colleague of mine. That said, I think she has written a very helpful book! The metaphor of housecleaning one's soul as one does one's house is an apt one, with the familiar dread at the start of the project, and the growing excitement at having made significant progress, while knowing that the process is never really complete. The comparison of closets, which are accessible, to our conscious mind, and attics, which are less so, to our subconscious mind, crystallizes the metaphor.

In Housekeeping, Sandra shares with us her accumulated wisdom gleaned from a childhood infused with spiritual elements from a variety of faith traditions, her own hard-won lessons from her unique life experiences, and her years as a life coach, during which she has been able to integrate and pass on all that she has learned.

Housekeeping is chock full of sound psychological concepts, fascinating tidbits about the spiritual practices of some lesser-known religions, and exercises and positive affirmations designed to facilitate growth, all presented in a clear and encouraging style which makes one feel that lasting change is not only possible, but is the logical result of finishing this book.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Lamentation

Lamentation-Plot twists that had me intrigued to read

I was a bit skeptical of audiobooks, but thought I'd give it a try after hearing a raving review of Timothy McKean's delivery of Joe Clifford's novel LAMENTATION. It took me awhile to embrace this method of "reading," but in the end I was not disappointed. McKean truly brought Clifford's characters to life for me, and the story line fully engulfed me.

Clifford skillfully wove a tale of believable characters and plot twists that kept me interested. I would highly recommend this book and look forward to more of Joe Clifford's books. I also enjoyed the freedom of enjoying a great book via Audible while I drove, folded laundry, and weeded the garden. I will definitely search out audiobooks read by Timothy McKean.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Sense and Sensibility

Much better than the Victoria McGee version

This is much, much better than the same book narrated by Victoria McGee. If you're debating between a couple versions, you can't go wrong with this one. I actually listened part-way to the other version, couldn't take another second of the robotic narrator, and switched to this one. Marion Castle is very expressive and interesting. She has a nice cadence to her voice, which suits the story. The only reason I'm not giving her 5 stars as a narrator is because so far, no one can outshine Lindsay Duncan as a narrator for Austen. If you haven't heard Duncan's version of Pride and Prejudice, I highly recommend it, too. However, Marion Castle is very good, and I would happily download other books she narrates in the future. I've learned my lesson with my Sense and Sensibility experience. The narrator really can make or break the story, and I'll be sure to pay more attention to the samples before downloading in future.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Blackout

Great read, full of action & suspense!!

This book really delivers...action, suspense, great characters & settings, whew!! This is my second of this series, and both were so good, I can't wait to read more! I did read them it of order, didn't matter, they each were great on their own.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Story of My Life

Inspiring

An amazing account of a truly remarkable human being, who should deeply inspire everyone to indulge in the beauty that is the world around them.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Swiss Family Robinson

Good story, well read

The story is great, though much of it is almost the same story as Mysterious Island, and the narrator is pleasant to listen to. Very entertaining on a long drive.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Wizard of Oz

One of the best children's books ever written

This is a great way to introduce kids to the fantastic worlds books can bring them to. Fair warning, this does contain its share of dark and violent images.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Getaway

Excellent thriller

Sam Archer is in New York for his father's funeral. While there he is determined to catch whoever murdered him and make them pay. Much excitement and plot twists ensue. I very much enjoyed the book but had to overlook British spelling differences from American English. I had to chuckle at some of the very British words and phrases the author had American characters say and think. I've never heard an American English speaker say they 'fancied' something to happen. Many other British words and phrases spoken or thought by American characters as well. I also had to Google a few British slang words to understand what was being said. Overall I enjoyed this second book in the Sam Archer series as much as I did the first book, Nine Lives. I'm looking forward to reading all the books in the series to date. I hope it continues for many more books to come. Excellent series.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Silent Night

Yet another top-notch effort from this author

Another fine installment of the Sam Archer series, this one involving a lethal virus that has fallen into the hands of a neo-nazi group. Typical of this series is the very fast-paced story, with Sam finding himself in tense and sometimes deadly situations, as he and his partners rely on the latest technology and equally dedicated colleagues to nab the bad guys here. I like the realism of the main character here...he is a stud but he's also just one man, and he sometimes has to depend on others to save him instead of always being the invincible superhero as we see too often. Enough subplots to complicate things for Sam but all make for a more complete story. If you're a fan of this series, this one will not disappoint. Four-and-a-half stars.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Antithesis: Inception

Review of The Antithesis: Inception (Hymn of the Multiverse Book 1) by Terra Whiteman Kindle Edition

I have to give credit to Terra Whiteman for a story that is very engrossing and exciting. Which ironically has more bureaucracy than you might expect. Yet even those parts are punctuated by intense action. In this exploration of the “multiverse” you will follow the life well maybe after life might be a better term of a being that will become known as Alezair 'Justice' Czynri a judge in the epic battle of evil vs good, well I do believe the better way it is put forth here is nature vs nurture. I will say along this journey I did find having a knowledge of world religions to be an asset in enjoying the book, well more the occult of world religions. But, I would not say it is necessary, and if nothing else it may lead to doing research into the matters.
I will say that the narrative was quite the page turner, however I will warn the reader that once finished you will have more questions than answers. Many of these I believe will be answered in subsequent books, but not all of them that is for sure. But, if ever there was a book that need a compendium to go along with it this is certainly one that I believe does. Over all I do highly recommend The Antithesis: Inception (Hymn of the Multiverse Book 1) by Terra Whiteman and cannot wait for more installments of this story.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : To Soften the Blow

An amazing and inspiring book!

I started listening to this amazing and inspiring book primarily because it was written and read by my friend Lynnie Vessels, but quickly realized that in addition to the often difficult but wonderful opportunity to get to know Lynnie better, it would offer me so much more. It is her true story, honestly and insightfully told, of courage and perseverance, and of the power of words and human connection in healing, teaching, relationships, and conflict resolution. This book is a treasure, and wonderfully narrated by the author.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Divining

The best author ever

Barbara Wood is the best uthor ever, I have read every book she has ever written ,I have never be disappointed, her characters are so real, it is almost like she would have to have lived in the time her characters lived, so much history and detail,I love her books ,just wish there were more of them...if you love good ,really good books ,you will love all her books.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Dangerous Embrace

This book ticks all the boxes for me!

I have been aware of this author for a while, but I hadn’t got around to reading this book even though it’s been sitting patiently on my Kindle. Big mistake. HUGE mistake! Now, I feel like I’ve discovered a precious gem amongst a lot of pretty sparkly stones. THAT gem is called Dana Mason.

I like a contemporary romance, but I love them when they contain more and Dangerous Embrace is so much more. This book ticked every single box for me.
Where do I start? First of all, the suspense. I read this book in a 24 hour period, well maybe it was probably longer because I was reading way past midnight because I HAD to finish it before I went to sleep. And every time I thought that one problem was resolved, another one would pop up. I took that book with me everywhere I went yesterday and I was out most of the day.

I immediately warmed to Sarah, probably because I am also a primary school teacher. She touched me in so many times. Her vulnerability and pain made me want to reach into that book and hug her but then her need to be strong and independent made me admire her.

Then there were the men. Yes, I said MEN. Number one in my eyes is Mark – intense blue eyes, over 6’ with broad shoulders AND a dimple. But it’s not just his physical appearance that won me over. I can’t forget Devon, Sarah’s half-brother or Brian, either.

But I’ve saved the best for last. For me, chapter 21 was what really did it for me. As a blogger and avid reader, I read a LOT of books. I don’t want to give anything away, but in this chapter I read the best sex scene I have ever read. It wasn’t rushed. It was slow and sensual. There weren’t bells and whistles, but it contained love and tenderness. I literally stopped and sighed several times while I was reading it. It was Dangerous Embrace held me in its grip from the very first page until the very end. It’s definitely worth far more than the 5 stars that I gave it. I can’t wait to read the next books in the Embrace series, Precious Embrace and Broken Embrace as soon as I can. Dana Mason has a new fan.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Give Up the Dead

Jay Porter is the unlikeliest of heroes

I love these Jay Porter novels! He is, or can be considered, a bit of a loser and yet, he rises to the top in the most unlikeliest of situations. I still want to smack him but in this book, not as much.

This listen had quite a few movable parts with all the upheaval and mystery centering around Jay. In his usual apathetic self, Jay starts out saying and doing the wrong thing. He does the right thing in the end and his journey is what makes these books hard to put down.

The narration is absolutely exceptional. McKean brings life to Jay and is definitely why the character feels so real and complex.

I hope there is a book four. This ending, though complete, feels like there is another version of Jay to come.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Tears of a Hustler - Book 2

OMG!

I was not expecting what happened to G- Money but I was slipping on Silk White I'm on this whole series and will some more books. I have officially became a fan. The descriptive words let me paint a picture in my head of each character and the environment also being able to connect to the characters emotions too. Nancy & Coco remind me of my BF & I.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : How to Analyze People on Sight - Cherrybook

Great book!

Going through it again would be beneficial to really memorize the human types. This was my second time to go through it.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : A Tale of Two Cities

A masterpiece.

A Tale of Two Cities is a definite favorite of mine. Despite being published in 1859, it still has the ability to draw the readier into the story and engage the mind. There are certainly elements of the book that we cannot relate to, living in this day and age. On the whole however, each person can find parallels and lessons applicable to their own life. Like many Dickens novels, there will be what seems like pages of useless details. It can be slow reading at times. Yet by the end of the book, everything comes together in a fantastic story and an ending that will leave you blown away. I can't recommend this book enough.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : To the Bone

Dark, twisty and totally satisfying!

As a fan of all things Paris, I couldn't wait to read this book, and Johansson doesn't disappoint. Her characters are well-drawn and believable, her scenes practically drip with suspense, and her descriptions take you down into the Parisian catacombs and leave you gasping with fear that you'll never come out! But it's well worth it to take this incredible ride--a fantastic YA thriller!

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Forever Man - Book 7: Dragonland

More of Nate's best friends

Just bought yesterday evening and finished up this morning. Will have Book 8 shortly because I'm dying to see what happens. Really hate these lizards! Nate is at his best, even though his magic is low. Again Craig, you've outdone yourself. I can't even imagine this series ending. Makes me sad.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Tom Sawyer

wonderful interpretation

Ian did a wonderful job getting into these interesting characters voices. Mark Twain is simply an American treasure.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Teflon Queen - Book 1

awesome!

This book was off rictor I absolutely loved it. the drama the characters are the truth. I especially like how they all interconnected throughout the story. my favorite is the Tef queen...she don't fuk off that is til love intervenes. . lol.. I am soooooooooooooo looking for book 2. please hurry don't keep it to long. i need to know what hppn to errbody. the queen, the white Russian, Wayne, Cappa, ohh & the girls too with they ride or die asses... I enjoyed listening hope bk2 is 9 hours long. .lol

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Social Contract

“The world of reality has its limits; the world of imagination is boundless.”

Americans have several heroes and intellectual forefathers. Jefferson, Hamilton, Adams et al all were literary geniuses, schooled in the progressive thought of the Enlightenment. Rousseau is one of the most influential in tat he wrote of a contract willingly entered into by people in order to prosper. “ Man is born free and everywhere he is in chains.” Is there anything more provocative than this quote?

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Divine Arsonist

my favorite book of the year!

What did you love best about The Divine Arsonist?

this was a wonderful relatable story of one man's spiritual awakening. He walks away from the material kingdom he built and discovers a depth within.

What did you like best about this story?

I liked all the character's back stories. Each character had a story about how they arrived to where they were at which is true in life as well but I loved the characters and their respective stories.

Which character – as performed by Jacob Nordby – was your favorite?

I liked Jack part of me likes the idea of off the grid living. Freedom fun and adventure!

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I enjoyed the cathartic experience Jacob experienced in the cave visiting the dark side and the epiphanies that were shared.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 31 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Decimus Fate and the Talisman of Dreams

Another amazing book by Peter Flannery

What a brilliant book. Peter Flannery has done it again. Instead of returning to the world of Battle Mage (another brilliant book) he starts a new world. Gone are the heroic characters of Battle Mage - replaced by flawed characters. Decimus Fate who ranks along side all the great fictional wizards - except he was a really nasty piece of work and now to make amends he has given up his greatest gift magic. Then there is Tutor - ex demon slayer - tortured by the death of his wife and child. Two powerful egos - who mistrust each other but have to work together to solve the puzzle of the Talisman of Dreams and of course avoid being killed - and because it involves Lord Fate there are many people who want him dead. This is hopefully the first of many books in this series and there are so many hints in the book of stories yet to be told and other characters who are just waiting to play a big role in the lives of Fate and Tutor. But Peter please, please write quick - just one book a year would be enough to keep your fans (which includes me) happy!

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Forever Man - Book 3: Clan War

epic blend of sci-fi, fantasy, folk-lore and alternative history

I read a lot of 'free' books from Amazon, usually the first in a series, and for a lot of them they are priced as I would value them, worth a read but not worth paying for future episodes in the series, I purchase further volumes in a series probably in about 1 in 20 cases.

I got the first book in this set as it was free and the storyline sounded interesting, after reading it I bought the other five books in the series.
A wide-spreading tale that start out as sc-fi post-apocalypse survival but soon branches out to bring in threads of fantasy, folk-lore and alternative history.

Like all fiction it will require, especially anything related to sc-fi/fantasy, it requires the reader to stretch their imagination and suspend belief. Simply accept the worlds and rules as described.
Having reached the end of volume 6 I would rate each book as five stars and rather than put in spoilers I'll simply post this review for each volume.

So thank you Mr. Zerf for taking the time and effort to write these books, they've given me a number of hours of pleasure reading them.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Business is Business - Book 1

Business is business

All I can say is wow! You never know what's to come when there's problems within the business. I knew from the beginning things wouldn't be good concerning Jimmy. He was a true hothead and needed to learn how to think things through instead of reacting before getting all the necessary information. The Mason family was involved in too much and some careless mistakes could cause serious repercussions. Eric may have been a pushover before but I think that's surely about to change after that ending. Alvarez tried to pull a fast one on Derrick and Kelly was downright wrong. I can't wait to find out more in part 2 and if the Mason's will continue on with their business is business mindset or get right before things get too out of hand.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The One that Got Away

Deft observations - unique alternate POV

As much as I have enjoyed his Jay Porter series, It's a pleasure to have something from Joe Clifford featuring a different set of characters. Again the backdrop is bleak, but this time it's dreary upstate New York, as opposed to wintry New Hampshire. Again Clifford draws on his hard-earned insights into drug culture and the insidious effects of drugs on the human psyche. His knack for deft little observations and details is on full display too, and there's a lot of zingy dialogue.

What really set this story apart for me, though were the sequences written from Benny's point of view. They are quite powerful and reminiscent of "The Sound and the Fury" (though Benny also has much in common with Steinbeck's "Lenny" among other characters).

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Stars

Enter the world of revenge, loss, love and death with Kathryn Harvey!

The explosive sequel to "Butterfly" was just as thrilling as its predecessor. Sometimes the best laid plans go awry and that's what happens in this book. Without giving anything away just know that all the players are gathered at an exclusive, remote luxury hotel high in the mountains. A huge snowstorm threatens but the danger to the guests is closer than they think. Kathryn Harvey has another winner in this scintillating tale of revenge, loss and death.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Before Sunrise

Excellent book

I've been reading all of Rick Mofina's books since I discovered him. Everyone of them was great. This one was the best. It broke from his previous storyline, no mystery or thriller, but one of human emotion. It was real and true-to-life, and very moving and emotional. Sometimes in a writing of this type, the reader can get bogged down with too much emotion, too much sadness, or the storyline becomes hard to believe. But this book was so well-written, I couldn't put it down. It might have been a bit predicable, but it didn't take away from the overall excellent writing by the author and his ability to have the reader embrace the central character and all that he is experiencing. I would highly recommend this book and any book written by Rick Mofina.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Here After

u have to get th is book

ok I admit I cried through the first to chapters, but wow, I don't want to give much away, a father loses his sense of purpose in life to find lasted in the hearts and families of lost children. great great great!

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Raven Mocker

One of my favorite audiobooks!

What a great experience! I had already read this book, but the story was brought to life in such an entertaining way that I found myself riveted by the tale. The narration was superb and moved smoothly along. This was a top-notch production and I enjoyed every minute of it!

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Begin with Yes

This book helped reduce my depression

I suffered from depression for many years. I have had unsatisfactory experiences with prescription anti-depressants. Talk therapy never seemed to be effective for me. I was at a loss, just surviving day to day, feeling mostly pessimism about my life and future. I came across the Begin with Yes Facebook page by chance and found the uplifting posts different and appealing--nothing like the typical, traditional cognitive-behavioral mantra currently in use by psychotherapists. I was surprised to find a companion book to the Facebook page. I decided to buy the book. It was a quick read, practical, inspiring and is helping me turn my life and mood around. The main golden nugget of this book is that just by doing one small positive, pro-active act or task a day, no matter how insignificant, is enough to get you to change your mood and life's direction over time. It gets you to minimize constant obsessing, and focus on simple, humble, physical actions, not grand or complicated projects or super-human feats or a gazillion action steps. This book has changed my life, and is proving that I can rebuild my ability to develop hopefulness.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Forever Man - Book 1: Pulse

A must read!

The first in a series, this book really gets you hooked from the start with its full prose but almost graphic novel qualities. Mixing a realistic feeling apocalypse with other worldly aspects, the story is one that will appeal to a variety of readers. Whilst great as a stand alone story, the book has you wanting to find out more about the characters, all wonderfully intricate and marvellously flawed, as well as leaving you wanting to find out what happens next. This, the first tale, dips gently into the other, fantasy dimension, dealing, on the whole, with the tragic consequences of life without power and gadgets. It deals with how society breaks downs and with individuals wanting to try to make a new, different life. Sometimes gentle, sometime brutal but always unputdownable, this is a brilliant first installment of what I hope will be a long running series. I hope someone makes this into a TV series. Definitely recommended.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Secret Adversary

An exciting adventure for Tommy and Tuppence

Following WWI the two young stars of the story were unable to find satisfactory jobs so they decided to become special investigators. Quite by accident they found themselves searching for a young woman who had been missing for five years who also happened to have in her possession a letter that could plunge England into another war. They were working for the government, but they would not be acknowledged if they got into any trouble. They each got into difficulty and were mysteriously missing for several days. Of course, as many golden age mysteries require, there was a secret villain that the reader is left trying to guess the identity of. After several twists and turns Tommy and Tuppence are able to solve the mystery, rescue the missing girl and save England.

Undoubtedly, Agatha Christie is the greatest mystery writer the world has ever known. She successfully developed four marvelous series, and Tommy and Tuppence are definitely fun to read. They had marvelous adventures and were also developed in a wonderful TV series. I am thrilled to own all of her books and never tire of rereading them. This book is the very beginning of Tommy and Tuppence's adventures, and I highly recommend it.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Mistwood

An absolute must-read.

Mistwood is a whirlwind of a fantasy adventure with fun characters and a tale for the ages. I couldn't put it down!

Mistwood starts with immediate action and never seizes to let up. I was instantly emerged into this world, exploring the epic fantasy parts of it with the castles and ghosts and everything brilliant about it. Mistwood has everything I love it in a fantasy novel: castles (love!), supernatural creatures, and an excellent protagonist that I could connect with.

Because Isabel is a really awesome for the fact that she doesn't remember her past. People tell her she is the "Shifter", the one and only person who could save their kingdom. And the really interesting thing is that she doesn't know how. And I loved how Cypess brought up that question and played upon it, diving deeper into it all the way up to the fantastic climax.

And Rokan is another stunning character! He's a prince with a haunting past that made his character development soar higher as Mistwood progressed. But not only are our main characters great; even the minor characters are fantastic and well-developed. Not a single one annoyed me. Not even our villain! (Which I will not spoil, since the villain is almost kept a secret for the majority of the book.)

The ending. Mind. Equals. Blown. I couldn't turn those pages fast enough, and once something wicked about a character is revealed, I was amazed and stunned just at how well Leah Cypess pulled it off. Just everything about Mistwood is mind-blowing, but my favorite part is the world, especially the world of the Mistwood. It's original, unique, and unlike anything I've ever read about it. That's why Mistwood is so special to me.

Mysterious and wonderful, Mistwood is a must-read for fans of fantasy. One of my favorite reads of 2012. Beautiful and mesmerizing!

-Originally posted at BookYAReview-

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Trophies

Wow!!!

Great story!!! Should be a movie!! Fully got enthralled in the complexities of the characters. Thanks for the roller coaster! Want More!!!

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Private Entrance

Kathryn Harvey returns!

If you've read (and re-read and re-read) "Butterfly", then you are familiar with Kathryn Harvey. "Private Entrance" isn't a sequel to "Butterfly" (although there is a passing reference to that book's main character Beverly Highland); it stands on its own. Ms. Harvey has a great way of starting out with many diverse threads and slowly weaving them until they all come together in the end, and this book is a great example of her talent. Plenty of mystery and action, beautiful and graphic descriptions of a desert resort we'd all love to visit, drop-jaw revelations...and since this is Kathryn Harvey, lots of hot sex (unless you are inclined to jump in and out of a cold shower every few pages, I recommend keeping a spritzer bottle of cold water nearby!). Welcome back, K.H.!

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Vogels: On All Fronts

Fantastic!

I am absolutely loving this series! If you love historical fiction or stories about WW2, I highly recommend this series. It's not so much about the war itself, but the human experience of the war. It's about a family torn apart on both sides of the war. I don't want to give away too many details though. The worst part of this book is that book 3 isn't available yet lol. I guess I'll wait patiently if I have to lol. The narration was good but I was honestly disappointed at the beginning. I guess the previous narrator was no longer available, so a new narrator was picked for this book. His accents weren't as good as the previous narrator, but the narration itself was great so I won't hold it against him lol.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : The Book of Obeah

A Fantastic Story with a Phenomenal Narration

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Excellent Story!! Would recommend to anyone looking for a good story, rich subject!

What about Dave Fennoy’s performance did you like?

Oh! You can not believe how well Dave Fennoy is in this performance. Easily the best performance by a narrator I have heard.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

When the main character returns to New Orleans and begins to learn about the practice of Voodoo.

Any additional comments?

You simply can not go wrong getting this audio book! I can't imagine anyone being dissapointed.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Green City in the Sun

A True Masterpiece

What made the experience of listening to Green City in the Sun the most enjoyable?

The story is priceless. Timeless. The narrator is good.

What did you like best about this story?

That the auhor herself went there and wrote about it. The historical facts. The Treverton family and the Wachera family's history.

What does Edie Tusor bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I'd say that if it wasn't for her, I would be able to listen and do chores with my hands busy at the same time.

If you could take any character from Green City in the Sun out to dinner, who would it be and why?

David Mathenge. He's looking like he could kind of my type.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Green Light

Another Sam Archer adventure filled with intrigue

As always, Sam gets into impossible situations and barely survives. In Green Light, it rapidly becomes apparent that the presumed perpetrators are not the real enemy. Through many twists and turns the real complex plot(s) is revealed, with plenty of violence, camaraderie and touches of love and compassion along the way. I feel that Tom Barber went a little overboard in the complexity of the overall plot which required several pages of repetitive text. However, I really enjoyed th story and found it hard to put down.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Murderous Minds

Does what it says on the tin.

This is a well written resource which avoids sensationalism and presents the facts as they are known. The author has ensured that the reader is informed and has a refreshingly engaging writing style without the judgemental baggage many writers bring to this topic. This reading of the book was clear and easy to understand while maintaining the flowing style of the text.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Tears of a Hustler - Book 1

Great Novel

This book was so intriguing has me wondering what's next will Big Mel get his for his deceit. So I'm going to read Book 2.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Capital Kill

Capital Kill

Wow! What a surprising ending. It was intense and gripping. I can't wait to see what happens next in Trask's life and career.

Report abuse
By Audible R. on 20 Jan. 2021 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : A New World: RETURN

Clear your schedule, hard to stop listening to!

Absolutely one of the best series on audible. Well narrated and keeps you on the edge of your seat all the time. You'll laugh out loud often and you feel as if you are right there with the characters. Every detail is explained and described in great detail. . you can imagine everything so clearly. Which is the mark of a good book in my eyes. Thank You John O'Brein for countless great hours of entertainment!

Report abuse